LETTER TO MY UNBORN CHILD

8174441_orig

Dear Little One
I feel you move inside my belly
A smile slithers across my face
I know you are more than a reality
No longer just a faraway dream
See, you are now part of me
Ingrained into every blood vessel
Almost painted into my very soul
Your tiny little heart beats
Rhyming with my big heart
Like Drums beats under the African sunset
I imagine a time I was alone
Now I feel I am no longer alone

Your presence makes it worthwhile
Your realism makes it truthful
Your existence makes it worth it

Dear Little One
I know I get scared sometimes
I feel unworthy of hosting you in my womb
Even regretful that I may not be enough
So many emotions
Have defined your presence in my life
Sometimes unsure if you accept me
I know it feels right
Perfect even
That I am acquainted with you
Our bond is bigger than the universe
You give me hope
That there is beauty in this life
Somehow sunrises seem more magical
The tears I cried feel more meaningful
Even the laughter becomes more precious
See, how you are me personified

Your being makes it wonderful
Your creation makes it insightful
Your growing makes it eventful

Dear Little One
As you peek into this world, cruel at times
Know I will protect you to death
I will love you
With as much love as my heart can muster
I will embrace you
With as much warmth as my skin can withstand
I will kiss you
With lips that will leave a mark on your cheeks
I will cover you
With all the shelter my hands will find
I will discipline you
With all the love that exists in my being
I will hold you
With as much strength as my embrace allows

Dear Little One
I await your arrival with bated breath
How do you look like dear one
I picture your little toes wiggling
Tiny fingers curling around my finger
Little nose twitching from the cold
That curled mouth readying to cry
Soft silky skin trembling with goosebumps
Every bit of you I picture in my heart

I feel
Senseless
Restless
Elated
Inspired
Afraid
Yet filled with unexplained expectations

The world may not be perfect Little One
You are my perfect world
Perfected for an imperfect me

Dear Little One
This is my Letter to you
Mommy loves you
Mommy is already proud of you
Mommy is happy
Mommy need you
Little One

Leave a Reply

