DEEP WOUNDED PLACES OF MY BROKEN HEART

img_20170125_170159

I never got to give you your name
I never got to call your name
I never got to hear your name called
Your name is what I am left with
A name that had such great meaning
The name of a warrior
The name of a Prince
The name of my boy
Your name meant so much to me
A name I knew
You would be proud of
A name I knew
You would love
My little batman
That was your play name
Because you were my hero
You saved me
You built me
You loved me
You made me glow
You held me together
You danced for me, in my belly
Made me stronger than I knew I was
Now your name sits
In the deep wounded places of my heart
Places I dare not venture
Or peek into
Lest I never come back from
My heart
Has such deep wounded places
Perforated with memories I never had
Drowned in moments I wish I had
With you
Trying to squint at the sun in the morning
When all I can see are darkened clouds
On a hurricane prone night
Your name lingers on
Hanging between my sanity and brevity
Telling me I need to heal
Help me heal these deep wounded places in my broken heart
Baby your name is all I have left

Leave a Reply

