COFFEE STAINS ON THE COASTER

f346733f931d28c5b33fbb97c2de252d

If we were having coffee
I would stare at the coffee stain
On the empty mug of coffee
Sitting on a single coaster
Legs crossed on the black and red sofa
Arms around my chest
Thinking of the conversations we would have had
The laughter we would have shared
How much love would have surrounded us
Sipping hot coffee
Within inches of each other over the table
If we were having coffee
I would tell you about my day
You would laugh at my less than funny jokes
Still you would laugh
Because mummy’s jokes are always funny
I would relish in your presence
Bask in your unconditional love
Knowing you had me wrapped around your little finger
If we were having coffee
I would let you add another spoonful of sugar
To your already sweet cup
Just to give in to your begging eyes
Let the coffee spill just a little
So we can see what pattern the coffee creates on the table
If we were having coffee…
We’ll never have coffee my boy

Leave a Reply

