TO SLEEP BESIDE YOU ONE LAST TIME

newborn-hand

I toss, turn in bed
Wondering what is missing
I realize then baby
Your side of the bed is empty
I wish to have slept beside you
Every day of my life
Curled you inside my arms
Held you close to my bosom
Until you fell asleep
My bed feels bottomless
Without you my baby boy
There is this hollowness I feel
When I stretch my hand
To your side of the bed
Everything ready for your arrival
Yet you did not leave the hospital with me
Your side of the bed
I keep staring
Wondering when is the emptiness going to be filled
When shall I stop searching
For your baby scent
On my waiting arms
On your side of the bed
I wished to sleep beside you
One last time
To remove this aching need for you
Sleep will not come to me
Because you are not there
To hold me back in your tiny arms
So I keep tossing and turning
Knowing you are missing
On your side of the bed

5 thoughts on “TO SLEEP BESIDE YOU ONE LAST TIME

Leave a Reply

